Monday, August 23, 2010

V.O.B. - Architecture: Wang Shu + Lu Wenyu to Win the Schelling Architecture Prize

Xiangshan Campus / © David Brown

The Schelling Architecture Foundation has recently named the winners of their Prize for Architecture and their Architectural Theory Prize. The award was bestowed upon Chinese architects & of (for architecture) and the French architect Jean‐Louis Cohen (for architectural theory.

Ningbo Contemporary Art Museum / © Thomas Stellmach

The foundation explained that, “Wang and Lu recognize the need for a philosophical and conceptual foundation of architecture which must find its origin in the substance of building.” Known for using traditional materials and the manipulation of landscape as a catalyst to create new forms, the team creates projects that seamlessly fit into their context and possess a strong architectural character.

Xiangshan Campus / © David Brown

Along with these awards, Schelling Medals are being given to the Swiss architects Knapkiewicz & Fickert and the British designer Tom Heatherwick for their work in the field. The public award ceremony will be held in the presence of all prize winners and medallists on the 14th of November 2010 in Karlsruhe, Germany. Congratulations to all the winners!

Xiangshan Campus / © David Brown

Source = Archdaily....

Images via designboom and as noted David Brown and Thomas Stellmach


up_today_arch said...

looks like Le Corbusier Chandigarh buildings... brilliant and forgotten ....

Post a Comment

Blog Widget by LinkWithin